Posted by: Jeremy | January 5, 2011

Back to work…


If you think throwing waffles is funny, then don't read my blog

Annnnnd we’re back! It’s been a month since my last check-in, so I’ll credit the busyness of the holiday season and the lack of anything remotely exciting on the Toronto sports scene to my latest hiatus. But that’s neither here nor there — the main thing is I’m back and ready to fill you in each time the Jays trade an established starting pitcher or the Raptors get pounded on their home court. Oh yeah, I may just throw in a mention of the Leafs getting dealt the same fate every now and then.

Yeah, so it’s been much of the same around here the past couple months. The Jays dealt Shaun Marcum to the Brewers in December in a trade I was hoping would eventually help us land Zack Greinke, but it was Milwaukee that got its hands on the moody Cy Young winner too in a weak package headlined by Alcides Escobar. The Raptors, meanwhile, sit at 11-23 and sometimes leave me wishing I’d never turned back to basketball after the South Beach Debacle, and the Leafs…well, I think they’ve dropped about 34 straight games since starting the season with four straight wins. Not that I ever really cared about them, anyway.

Tonight, Canada plays for gold in a boys hockey, so that’s something to look forward to for most Canadians, despite no other country in the world really caring about the tournament. Oh yeah, and the NFL Playoffs kick off this weekend! The omission of the St. Louis Rams is disappointing, but I’m fully confident the Seattle Seahawks have what it takes to bring it home. We’ve got a little bit of action coming up, I suppose. Let’s see what happens!

Leave a Reply

Categories

