Posted by: Jeremy | October 24, 2010

Giants get by Phillies, set date with Rangers


The move on to the World Series and Ryan Howard's memorable postseason draws to a close

It’ll be the Rangers and Giants playing for the World Series. Did anyone see this one coming? I gotta admit, even with my immense baseball knowledge, I didn’t. San Francisco punched its ticket with a 3-2 win over the Phillies in Game 6 of the NLCS last night, getting seven shutout innings from its bullpen and a solo homer from Juan Uribe in the eighth that proved to be the game-winner. Brian Wilson finished off Philly in the ninth, catching Ryan Howard looking at a full-count breaking ball with runners on first and second to end it.

So, for the first time since 2007, the National League will be represented by a team other than the Phillies in the Fall Classic. The Giants are in for the first time since 2002, when they blew a 3-2 series lead to the Angels, including a 5-0 lead in the seventh inning of Game 6, before falling. As for the Rangers, it’ll be their first shot since entering the league as the Washington Senators in 1961. Game 1 goes Wednesday night in San Francisco, with the unbeatable Cliff Lee facing whichever starter the Giants decide to waste.

Responses

  1. […] Clarke MacArthur, Mike Richards, Scott Hartnell « 2010-11 Raptors Preview: Ed Davis Giants get by Phillies, set date with Rangers […]

  2. Giants get by Phillies, set date with Rangers « That's what I'm ……

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  3. Giants get by Phillies, set date with Rangers « That's what I'm ……

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

  4. I watched the last few innings of this last night and I thinking I don’t watch enough playoff baseball. It was a great game, and a great finish. I blame the Jays for making me lose interest in baseball around August.

    I’ll probably take in a few World Series games. I like this matchup quite a bit. I’m thinking Texas in 6.

  5. It’s great that the phillies got eliminated. Should be a good series. Hopefully we can get a 7 game series. I’m also thinking Texas wins it all.

  6. @Mike: The San Francisco games have all been great, and I expect much of the same in the World Series. I wouldn’t mind seeing either one of these teams win, but I’m gonna go with Texas in seven.

  7. limewire is perfect


Leave a Reply

Categories

