Posted by: Jeremy | November 26, 2009

Jays bring in another shortstop


Who wouldn't love a guy that gets a standing ovation?

Alex Gonzalez is coming back to Toronto. Okay, okay not that Alex Gonzalez. A day after signing Johnny Mac to a two-year, $3 million deal, ESPN.com is reporting the Jays have also agreed to a one-year, $2.75 million contract with the other Alex Gonzalez, who hit .238 with eight homers in 112 games with Cincinnati and Boston last year.

Like his namesake, Gonzalez is also a shortstop, so his signing all but ends the Marco Scutaro era in Toronto, which, as I implied yesterday, is fine by me. Don’t get me wrong — Scutaro is cool and all, but at age 34 and coming off a career-year, he’s due to get waaaay overpaid. I’ll gladly let someone else do that.

Gonzalez will be 33 on Opening Day, having kicked around the majors since breaking in with Florida in 1998. He hit 23 homers in 2003 and added a walk-off in the World Series, which the Marlins won that year, and hit 16 and .272 as recently as 2007 before missing all of the following year with a broken kneecap. Since leaving Florida in 2006, he’s had a pair of stints in Boston and spent two seasons in Cincinnati.

Also of note (and kind of sadly), Gonzalez has a three-year-old son in Miami that’s been in a coma for two years. That really, really sucks. Anyway, all the best to the new man in town, both on and especially off the field.

Responses

  1. I know we are in a building stage but I do not like this. I know the options out there are few and far between but with this team and its inability to score runs I would have taken sub-par fielding Tejada and his roids as opposed to Alex Gonzalez pt. II. We currently have no catcher and reports say Yorvit Torrealba is coming in probably. Yorvit, EE and Gonzalez pt. II does not make me excited for the future at all. Other than Hill, Lind and Dorpiak and hopefully Marcum back next year I am not even a little excited for Blue Jays baseball again. Please write some happy Blue Jays news soon Jiggy, I am starting to get the winter blues really early!

  2. Yeah, it’s definitely a stopgap until we can bring in someone permanently. I hadn’t heard anything about Tejada but there wouldn’t have been much chance of that happening with winning out of the picture next year and the Jays unlikely to spend at this time.

    I wish I could give you some good news, but this is all I’ve got for you man!

  3. Tejada is not worth anything anymore. His defense is awful and he is not the man he was on the juice. I know this is a stop gap but this is rebuild attempt # 3 behind Gord Ash and J.P and I am running out of patience. If fans like me are starting to lose hope the fair weathered folk are all but gone.

    KEEP SEARCHING FOR GOOD NEWS AND WHEN YOU FIND IT WRITE IT!

  4. I don’t mind this. I think Anthopolous is going to try really hard to find his SS of the future (one area where Ricciardi always failed) but we’re going to need something as a stopgap. With Gonzalez and Mcdonald, we might have the best defense at this position.

    I’ll miss Scutaro, but I never thought we have the oppurtunity to get this kind of compensation for him, so I really cannot complain.

  5. Yeah, with the young pitchers they’re grooming, the best option is to send the best defensive shortstop out there they can find. Hope to see Johnny Mac get lots of burn next year…

  6. I would rather have Johnny Mac playing the stop gap on a day to day basis as opposed to A.Gon part 2. This team has two losing seasons in it before it competes so lets throw in J-Mac in the meantime. If Manual Lee could be a starting MLB SS surely Mac can play 134 games.


Leave a Reply

Categories

