Posted by: Jeremy | November 7, 2009

Sassy soccer player takes a seat


lambert

Woof Woof

A little follow-up on everyone’s favourite hair-pulling, spine-punching little jewel of a soccer player that was all over the news yesterday: She’s suspended. Locked up (or at least held off the pitch) indefinitely. The University of New Mexico announced last night Elizabeth Lambert will sit for the foreseeable future and think about her horrible, horrible actions in Thursday’s game against Brigham Young.

Alright, so she got her punishment and it was well deserved. I’m ready to forgive her — after all, she’s not the first athlete to get a little pissed off and act up during a game. To her credit, she’s not making excuses:

“I let my emotions get the best of me in a heated situation. I take full responsibility for my actions and accept any punishment felt necessary,” Lambert said Friday, according to a story on ESPN.com. “This is in no way indicative of my character or the soccer player that I am. I am sorry to my coaches and teammates for any and all damages I have brought upon them.

“I am especially sorry to BYU and the BYU women’s soccer players that were personally affected by my actions. I have the utmost respect for the BYU women’s soccer program and its players.”

So there, it’s in the past. Well, maybe we’ll let that poor BYU player pull her pony tail. Then we’ll call it even. Getcha popcorn ready!

Responses

  1. never wear ponytails… always opt for the bun

  2. I will keep that in mind next time I lace up my cleats!

  3. […] Posted in Soccer | Tags: brigham young, brigham young university, byu, college soccer , elizabeth lambert , espn, espn.com, hair pull, lambert , ncaa, ncaa soccer , new mexico , new mexico lobos, pony tail, Soccer , university of new mexico , …More Here […]

  4. […] Posted in Soccer | Tags: brigham young, brigham young university, byu, college soccer , elizabeth lambert , espn, espn.com, hair pull, lambert , ncaa, ncaa soccer , new mexico , new mexico lobos, pony tail, Soccer , university of new mexico , …This Blog […]

  5. […] The University of New Mexico announced last night Elizabeth Lambert will sit for the foreseeable future and think about her horrible, horrible actions in Thursday’s game against Brigham Young. Alright, so she got her punishment and it …Click Here […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

